30 rep / wo

I am doing that exact amount, being on 15's it is early days, might be complaining by the time I get to 5's, but am willing to see.

Will keep all posted!
biggrin.gif

Long ago I realized that 30 is the least common multiple of 5, 10, and 15, and seems it should be like a magic number for HST (I'm a math teacher
biggrin.gif
). However -- at least for me -- 30 reps per workout would take forever, especially in the 5s. I sometimes will do 2x15 in the early 15s phase, but I stick to 2x10 and 3x5.

Now, if I were only doing 5 or 6 exercises per workout, I might try the 30 rep target.

<div>
(etothepii @ Sep. 07 2006,13:55)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">Now, if I were only doing 5 or 6 exercises per workout, I might try the 30 rep target.</div>
That's exactly what I am doing. However, I still find that to get it done in an hour is a hard task during 5s. Also, I just can't do 6 sets of my 5RM for any exercise so I have to cluster and that can take ages too. I have settled on 20 reps as a good number (after my experiments with Max-Stim). During 15s I will now do about 1 and a half sets but at least 20 reps; 10s will be 2 sets; 5s will be four sets or 2 plus a heavy (close to 10RM) set of 10 to make up the 20 reps.

I think this is more practical for three times a week. By all means try 30 reps but if you feel that the volume is too much drop it back until you feel you can manage. At 30 reps I started to dread going to the gym, esp. on deadlift days.
wow.gif

<div></div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">Now, if I were only doing 5 or 6 exercises per workout, I might try the 30 rep target. </div>

Right you are, that is exactly what i am doing! In fact 4 some days others 5, so I will survive I am sure!
biggrin.gif