6ft woman to add muscle/lose fat

Angel Rising

Hi everyone.

I have been lifting on and off for a couple of years, changing my routine here and there but never getting the results i want.

What I want to do is gain some lean muscle and lose some body fat. I am 6ft and lean (with fat on hips and butt...too much sugar!LOL) so i need more muscle.

I have found that fullbody workouts work the best for me (from past experience) so will be changing from an upper/lower split to HST...and looking forward to it...although i have only ever done 2 fullbody per week so adding the thrid is a little daunting. i don't want to compromise my muscle, but I still want to lose fat.

Are there any other women who have gained muscle and lost fat on HST, and came from a similar place as i did?

Angel

Difficult to say as there is not many women posting on the site, but yes, the case is that HST is not gender specific and will definitely work for you or anyone else for that matter.

You need to go and see which are you 15's, 10's and % rep maximums and then design a suitable program.

Let me start by saying that both deadlifts and squats are the best muscle adding, butt reducing exercises you will get, so they are a must to include, deadlifts specifically should be kept to once p/week as they can get tough on the lower back, so alternate the two p/workout and you'll be fine!

Dips and bench presses (slightly inclined), Chin-ups and rows and military presses are the rest to complete the staple of the workout, do not add much more as it will be quite unnecessary.

You will only start growing once you diet is above your basic metabolic requirements, so if you keep to maintenance you will probably end up loosing a little fat (right up your alley I believe
biggrin.gif
).

Anyway this is enough to get you going.

Cheers
cool.gif

Thanks Fausto.