A 24-year-old absolute beginner's log (Cycle 1)

despair89

Hello friends,

First of all thank you to those that helped me start of my first cycle back in this thread:
http://thinkmuscle.com/forum/showthread.php?41350-Absolute-beginner-with-no-experience
I started out without any lifting experience except some really sparse and ad hoc trips to the gym every now and then. This is the first time I am following a structured lifting program.
Even then, there are more new questions everyday.

I hope you guys will be able to answer some of my questions/comments below.
All exercises are done 1 set.

1. I have completed my first HST cycle. My verdict are that I have experienced very considerable strength gains unlike previous ad-hoc lifting experiences.
2. In terms of size I also see noticeable improvements especially on the pecs and biceps which is also areas that I am targetting.
3. One issue that I am facing now is due to the fact of the very light weights that I am currently lifting, it can be sometimes hard to maintain a consistent weight increase progression in each 2-week block. For example, assisted machine pull ups only have plates in 5kg intervals. Sometimes I would have to stick with the same weight for 2 days before jumping up a notch.
4. Does it seem weird that in the beginning, my lifting weights for bench, squat, and deadlifts all seem the same? I only found enough strength improvement towards the end that my squat weights started pulling ahead of my benches.
5. The exercises that I used were meant to maximize as many compound lifts to increase overall bulk while still being able to target my intended areas eg. chest, arms, shoulder. However, do you think I should switch some of the core body exercises (one of the deadlifts) to something else? Also, are the hammer pullups I am doing now sufficient for good arm growth or should I swap that out with something else eg curls? I still do think compounds are superior to iso. Both in terms of feeling and results.