Bedtime meal, post workout meal

I

imported_etothepii

From most of what I have read, it is good to eat a post workout meal (an hour or so after lifting and having a shake) that has a good amount of carbs. In contrast, pre-bedtime meals should be low in carbs. My issue is that since I workout at around 10:00 pm, my pos-workout meal is my pre-bedtime meal!

So which way should I go? I have been eating oatmeal, peanut butter, and skim milk. I've been getting favorable results, but I'm still a bit of a newbie. I think I would be getting good results regardless. So as things start to slow down for me, what do you think is the best meal in this situation?

Pre-bedtime meals don't have to be low in carbs. Some people will tell that it will turn to fat because you will be asleep. Some people would be wrong. Just eat whatever, but it would be a good idea to have plenty of protein before bedtime just because.

For instance, I like to have spaghetti late at night, and I drink milk with it. Sometimes I eat some cottage cheese along with it. I haven't had more fat gain compared to muscle gain than I would normally have, so it must not be doing any harm.

<div>
(Totentanz @ Aug. 23 2006,19:38)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">Pre-bedtime meals don't have to be low in carbs.  Some people will tell that it will turn to fat because you will be asleep.  Some people would be wrong.  Just eat whatever, but it would be a good idea to have plenty of protein before bedtime just because.

For instance, I like to have spaghetti late at night, and I drink milk with it.  Sometimes I eat some cottage cheese along with it.  I haven't had more fat gain compared to muscle gain than I would normally have, so it must not be doing any harm.</div>
I tend to believe in the nutrition partioning effects of eating certain foods at certain times in relation to your workout schedule. But overall, I agree that not doing so isn't overly harmful.