Ending my first HST cycle (bulk) - my impressions

leonardopm

Hi,

First place I'd like to introduce myself. I live in Brazil and 37yrs old. I had been lifting for 15+ years but in the last 4 years I stopped completely. In October past I returned to lifting and made some decent progress until December but gains started to slow down and I decided to try something new, when I found HST stuff on the web. It seemed to be a great program, with a solid scientific base and I decided to try it.

I started HST in 12/27/13 doing a 10 day SD period then went to 10RM weeks. I'm actually in the 5th week of cycle doing workouts at 5RM (negatives weren't an option for me).

I felt great all the time since I started but these last two days I'm feeling a little more tired, maybe due to the heavy loads. Some minor pains started to show up in my knees and back but despites that I got to put some extra weight in three exercises today.

I've gained 2.5 lbs since I started and I feel that could be a lot more, but unfortunately I only took the diet seriously 15 days ago after reading Totentanz eBook. I'm currently eating 3400kcals a day with a 1g of protein/lb of BW ratio. I'm 6' tall, currently weighing 196lbs at (estimated) 12-13% BF.

Comparing my current lifts to what I had before HST I added nearly 10% in almost all of them. I haven't taken measures but I'm feeling bigger than before. My plan is to bulk for the next 2 months and then cut to 9-10% BF.

Here's my routine, 3x a week:

Flat bench
Calf raise
Lat pulldown
Squat
Seated row
Military press
Romanian DL
Press JM (close-grip bench press)
Barbell curl
Crunches (with weight)

I usually do 1 working set when at 10RM and 2 sets when at 5RM. For calf raises, 2 and 3 sets.

Well, that's all for now. I'd like very much to hear your comments and critics about it.

Thanks,

Leonardo