HST with Kelly Baggett Diet?

DaNutz

I am new to HST and am anxious to give it a try. I just went through P90X to get my butt back into shape and have shed most of that extra fat. Since then I hit the weights again doing some basic full body routines to get my core strength back to a decent level.

Now I am looking to get bigger, but I am not willing to sacrifice "lots" of the work I put in to get rid of this fat. While I know I will gain some fat it needs to be under control! :)

I have done a lot of research and ran across Kelly Baggett's "The No Bull Muscle Building Plan" which had a promising diet plan along with workout routines to gain mass and shed fat quickly. Sort of mini cycles for htose not familiar. I have read many good things about this program and Kelly seems to be very reputable.

Here is the basic idea.

Day 1, 3, 5, 8, 10 are full body workouts
2,4,6,7,9,11 are off days
12, 13 are light cardio and intense cardio respectively
Day 14 you begin all over again

Now the diet works along side like this...
Days 1- 11 eat for bulk (500-1000 over maint)
12, 13 Low carb (50-100) low cal (10-15 cal per pound)
Day 14 low carb, low cal until 1 hour before workout, then you start bulk diet.

I believe this fits in perfectly with HST as Kelly promotes many of the same concepts of weight training for hypertrophy. Basically the net result after 2 weeks should be 1-4 lbs of lean muscle or so that is the theory.

I was thinking an 8 week HST with this diet
15x1 week 1-2
10 x2 week 3-4
5 x 3 week 5-6
5 x 3 week 7-8 max
Rest week

What do you all think of mixing the diet with HST?

Last edited:
not really up on diets TBH,so basicly your bulking for 11 days then dieting for 3 is that correct.
and when you say "Days 1- 11 eat for bulk (500-1000 over maint)" do you mean a day,or over the 11 days'let us all know how you go on.
good luck:cool::D