Middle-aged guy trying HST for the first time

pokermik

I will be starting HST tonight for the first time. I am almost 55 years old, 6'0" and 190lbs. After long layoff, I've been working out diligently for over 6 months with good results. Working out heavy each time 3-4 times per weekly has been a little hard on the joints and gains have been slowing down. Here is my HST plan.

Workout days will be F-Su-Tu. Plan on 6 week cycle, but may add 2 more weeks continuing with the 5-rep max.
15 reps - 2 sets/2sets
10 reps - 2/1
5 reps - 2/1 (1/1 on iso bi's and tri's)

Squat - Deadlift - Squat (Repeat)
Leg Curl
Dips - Hammer Incline (Alternate)
Chins - BB Rowing (Alternate)
Shrugs
DB Seated Press
Preacher EZ Curl
JM Press
Standing Calf Raises

Any feedback or comments will be gratefully accepted.

Just finished second day of 15 reps. It was quite brutal finishing 2 sets of 15 reps for each of the exercises. I was completely drained. I don't know if I will be able to continue the full two weeks doing 2 sets of 15.

You can just do 1 set of 15s per exercise if you like. The 15s are mainly to prep your muscles and joints for the upcoming heavier weights. The burn feeling you get is the lactic acid flushing through. What I did was only 2 sets of 15s on the big lifts and just 1 for the rest.

Third day of 2x15 went perfect. Hard, but had sufficient energy throughout. I believe it was the 2nd set of 15 Deadlifts that burned me out the other day. I will limit the DL's to only one set.

Bear in mind that the higher rep work takes a bit of getting used to - for anyone. Give your body a chance to adjust to the HST methodology this cycle - I think you'll be amazed where you'll be strength and endurance-wise when you hit your first SD. Welcome to the forum!

Yeah, I never do more than one set of deads or squats in the 15s. F that. If I do two sets on the 15s of either of those, the workout is pretty much over. Drop to one and go from there.