Please Help - Getting Weaker On Hst

np89

Hello everyone,

I am new to lifting and started at the beginning of April. I was on a 3 day a week split routine that I ran for 12 weeks and my 1RM lifts went from:

Bench Start: 135lbs
Bench Finish: 175lbs

Squat Start: 140lbs
Squat Finish: 195lbs

I switched to HST training after this 12 week cycle and I am in my second week of 10's and I can't help but notice I am much weaker than before. Just a few weeks ago I was doing 1550lbs on the bench for 8 reps, but I just got back from the gym having struggled to bench even 150lbs for 5 reps (I failed first set). The only part of me that seems to be stronger is my legs, I managed to squat 170lbs today for 1 set of 10 but even that to be honest felt really heavy on my back.

Is this just mental or something else? I work really long hours so usually work out at 9:30PM at night. My diet looks like this:

breakfast: two whole wheat slices of toast
Mid morning: coffee, glass of milk, fiber one oat bar
Lunch: chicken breast, rice, beans or chicken breast, boiled egg, basmati rice, peppers
Dinner: Chicken breast, sweet potato fries or something
Before bed: protein shake with creatine

I would really appreciate any help. I was really enjoying my time at the gym when I was making progress but it's become very demoralizing.

Newbies will see quick gains in loads in the early days, to enable people to help you can you advise height and weight please

Doing a quick calculation your approximate caloric intake is as follows

Breakfast - 140 plus butter / margarine
Mid Morning - 210 - assuming semi skimmed milk in coffee and 250 ml of semi skimmed milk in glass
Lunch - 620 - assuming 200 g of chicken and 100 g of rice and 50 g beans
Dinner - 530 - assuming 200 g of chicken and 85 g of sweet potato fries
Protein drink - 250

Total - approximately 1750 kcal and depending on your weight and goals this could be quite low!!!