Slapshotz' SST journal

Slapshotz

I've been keeping a log at another site for the past couple years, but there's only 2 or 3 consistent posters there, so I think it's time to add a journal here
smile.gif

I'm off to work now, but I'll outline my current plan later on today. I've been doing this particular strength phase for the last six months or so, and as long as the gains keep a-comin', I'll keep a-goin!
smile.gif

Bench Press:
135 - 10
185 - 8
225 - 5
275 - 1
300 - x
225 - 6
225 - 6

Weighted Dips

<span style='color:blue'>BW+120 - 4 ***New Personal Best</span>
BW+120 - 3
BW+90 - 6
BW+90 - 5

***Rotator cuff prevention work ala Q-dood

Notes: I've been having a $hitty, stressful week, and this workout showed it. When 185 felt heavy on bench, I knew I was in for it, but I still figured I'd try 300 anyway. Hopefully, next chest workout will land me at 300. Dips were good.

As far as my HIIT cardio, I've STILL only done the one wind sprint session from last week. My inner thighs are still a little sore, which is extremely hard to believe, but that may be a hangover from my squats the other day. My hamstrings are still sore, too, so it may be another day or two b/4 my next session.

Talked briefly to my trainer today, he's still no big fan of HIIT cardio, but we'll have our official appointment on Saturday when I do my next bodyfat analysis, and can discuss it more...I really can't wait to pick his brain on that one and find out why he's anti HIIT.

Slap's basic training/diet philosophy:

At this point, I'm training purely for strength and aesthetics. My goals are to be as strong as possible, but at the same time, I want to maintain my 6-pack. That means rather infrequent heavy lifting, along with cardio on the off days.

I have been doing static cardio for the last year, but recently switched to HIIT. I may/may not switch back to static cardio, depending...I'll make a final decision by Saturday.