Upper / Lower Spit 6 days a week

34blast

Hi,

I'm looking for comments about a 6 day upper / lower split and how it went for you?
I'm wondering if guys over 40 find this to be too much volume? I see some only do 4 day split.

I did a 12 day SD and today I finished 15s today with no issues so far. I'm only doing weight training and no cardio with the exception of some soccer once a week. I guess the only issue is I was a bit sore after the first 2 or 3 workouts of 15s even at a very low weight, but managed through it okay.

I'm not new and this will be my 1rst cycle after a cut, but 3rd cycle this year. So far, I've increased the weights, weight the same, but less body fat. I thought to try it this way this time for 2 reason:
1). I wanted to add more volume as suggested by Bryan since I'm not a newbie and want the suggested 60 reps minimum lower and 30 reps upper.
2). I actually have a routine and would prefer to go to the gym every day during the work week and not be there so long

Day 1
Bench (possible add flies or dips at 15 reps during the 5s)
Barbell Row
Lat pull down
Military Press
Dumbbell shrugs
Preacher Curl
Tricep extension (will switch to Close grip bench during 5s)

Day 2
Low bar back squat
Stiff-legged dead lifts (will switch to RDL or traditional during 5s)
Leg extension (possible do 15s during the 5s for volume)
Leg Curl (possible do 15s during the 5s for volume)
Calf raises (possible do 15s during the 5s for volume)
Hip abductor in (possible do 15s during the 5s for volume, seems to help avoid groin injury during soccer))
Hip abductor out (possible do 15s during the 5s for volume, seems to help avoid groin injury during soccer)
abs

Cut out the curls and extensions. They're unnecessary for hypertrophy and are not especially well suited to a 6-day split (especially for low bar back squats). If you want extra volume, get it from compounds and save your joints. Dips and chins/pulls are a great addition to facilitate this.