What would happen if...

vagrant

I'm new to HST, so far I love it. 1/2 inch gains all over my body in only 3 weeks - that is of course after 3 years of working my butt off and getting nowhere on size but with good strength gains over time.

I love the basic lifts - squat, row, deadlift, bench.

Couple of questions. What would happen on my next HST cycle if I just did this:
squat
bench
deadlift
row
overhead press
chins
without all the accessory work. I know if you mess with a program too much you can tweak it in the wrong direction.

Another question on the same line - I was wondering what would happen if I did this at the end of the HST cycle - instead of doing superheavy negatives (I work out alone - this isn't the best idea without a spotter) if I just did the basic exercises in sets of 2.

like this
2x2 squat
2x2 dead
2x2 row
2x2 bench

increasing the load by my planned HST increments each workout until getting to my max on the last workout.

So it's like HST with powerlifting at the end...how does that sound.

Next question - I have so many, but I'll not try to put them all in one post.

I need to extend my HST cycle by about 4 weeks for an ummm medical reason. I continue lifting hard and heavy throughout PCT and don't want to take time off to lose my progress until that is over. The goal here is to keep gains not to backslide.

I understand that I can just extend the 5's. After the two weeks of 2's are over do I just start the 5's up again and keep adding weight in small increments like when I did them the first time? During this time do I keep doing the full body workouts or just do the basic heavy stuff 3x a week?

Thanks.

I have been thinking about HST for powerlifting.

I prefer a split -

1 legs and back
2 chest, shoulder tri

train 6 days per week

Perhaps rather than 4 weeks of 5s.do 2 weeks, and then a weeks of 3 x 3, finishing with a week or two of one set of three.

Personally I don't find it necessary to go below triples in the gym.