Working with your max weights

chrisb

Hi
I'm new to HST and was just wondering if someone could clarify a few points about the final workouts in each block of six. When you come to your final workout, I understand that you will be working with the weight that was your max before you started the cycle, but all being well is no longer your max. So, in terms of number of sets for this workout, is it just a case of warmup, perform the one set with your max and then say job done and walk away, or should you attempt a second set even though you may fall short. The same question applies for the final two weeks, where I've read if you can't do negs, carry on with your 5 rep max weight. I guess I'm a bit confused about whether training to failure is an issue using HST.
Any help appreciated!
Chris

Rep maxes are always changing...sometimes up and sometimes down. There are a lot of variables. You just have to take your best guess at your max and go for it. I usually aim a tad bit light and, for instance on the 5's, I can tell after 2 reps if the weight is going to be too heavy or two light. Then I adjust my rep speed, esp on the last rep, to insure that rep 5 is the last rep I could have done without compromising form. You don't have to be afraid of failure on your last work session. Even if you only hit 4. No big deal.

[b said:
Quote[/b] (chrisb @ May 28 2005,11:26)]should you attempt a second set even though you may fall short.
Sure you can, even in the RM phase. If you fall short no big deal.

I thought the idea was not to adjust them. I thought that the increments decreased your max weight, and once you lifted your max again, you'd go onto to the next stage of your cycle.

Was I totally wrong? I hope not.

Thanks,
TennisDude

" I thought that the increments decreased your max weight"