Amino Acids

Joe.Muscle

Hey guys a personal trainer at the gym who has helped my wife get into phenomal shape (janet jackson 6 pack) really believes and talks about amino acids a lot.

He says this supplement makes a huge difference and highly recommends them.

Now believe it or not with my 12 years of training I have learned and done a lot of creatine, hmb, zma , protein etc...but I don't know Jack Sh-it about amino acids!

Should I???

Is this something that could make a big difference?

Thanks for anyone educated imput!!!

Amino acids are what make up protein...

I'm no scientist or expert, but from what I know there's little to no benefit in taking individual amino acids. If you eat plenty of meat and whey, you'll get more than enough of all the amino acids.

From what I remember there are 20 standard amino acids, and 10 of those are "essential", they can't be manufactured by the body and need to be gotten from food.

Meat (and I think whey too) contains complete proteins, which means it has all the essential aminos, so as long as you eat a lot of meat there shouldn't be a lot of benefit to taking suplements.

Get more info from your wife's trainer though.

Well, it really depends(doesn`t everything?). If you have your protein in order, they shouldn`t add much. Having EAAs(essential amino acids) post workout seems to help, but nothing earth-shattering.

Vince Gironda had some idea that keeping a constant flow of amino-acids by taking at least 5 5-10 g servings(or more, don`t remember exactly) in-between meals would maintain an anabolic environment, but Gironda was kindof a quack:)

Also, in dosages that would actually matter, they should be fairly cost-prohibitive/inefficient. The only place where amino-acid supplementation would be useful as far as I can see is a Vegan diet based around inferior protein sources(some of the protein containing veggies have a poor amino-acid profile), which may result in some individual aminos lacking.