electric's log

I

imported_electric

Hello HSTers, after following this forum for a while unable to post here I am. I have to confess that following this and not being able to post had me somewhat anxious. Anyways, here goes the bio: I am 28, 1.70cm (5'7") weighting 69kg (152lbs) and I am from Brazil.
After many years away from lifting weights I have restarted 6 months ago doing routines suggested by the gym employees. I decided to start using HST as I like the fact that it is based on scientific research.
Since I am a newbie I'll be doing the vanilla HST routine. 3 times a week (M, W, F), 2 week mesocycles 1x15, 1-2x10 and 3x5. I'm using A/B split but just to vary the exercises.

Welcome, Electric! Hopefully you've read the articles and searched out any questions you might have, but we're still here and happy to help with any confusion.
Listen to your body, pay attention, and keep a log with you if you can. Don't ignore pains. Soreness is okay, but pain is a warning. Your log is your most valuable tool, keeping you on track.

April 7th

First HST workout. All weights were very light.

The workout:

Squat (smith machine) 1×20 (30 kg)
BB Flat bench press 1×15 (40 kg Plus Bar)
Seated Machine Row 1×15 (42.5 kg)
Seated Leg Curl 1×20 (45 Kg)
Seated Calf Raise 1×20 (35 kg)
Preacher BB Curl 1×20 (12 kg Plus Bar)
Incline Reverse Crunch 1×15 (BW)

The workout itself took about 30 minutes or less. Had 5 minutes stationary bike warmup, trying to maintain cardio training heart rate (155 bpm).

All weights were pretty light, specially the calf raise. I might have been conservative on the weights for this exercise due to heel tendon pain. I also avoid overstetching the heel on the eccentric part. Fortunatelly, no pain.

The preacher curl although light made me feel the right elbow again. It might be the range of motion that is forcing my elbow too much. Maybe I should switch to standing curl and see what happens.