End of Cycle Question?

MichaelKies

Im a new member to the HST site and HST training in general. Ive been lifting for over 20 years, but will be starting my first HST cycle this monday (currently SD'ing).

Here's my question: What to do after the 5's? The site recommends doing negatives which is not very easy when not working with a partner. Another option it says is to keep working the 5's---for how long??? After the 5's should I immediately start another cycle with slightly higher RM's? Or should I SD again and THEN start another cycle with the higher RM's???

Thanks for any input!!!
~M

Continue on with your 5RM, possibly getting new personal records (PR) of strength. You could soak that for about a week. After this, the options are unlimited, but I like the idea of doing sets of 3's followed by a week of pushing your 1RM. That's four good weeks of lifting after your 5RM has been achieved in the normal HST mesocycle.

Ok, so 1 more week of 5's, 2 weeks of a 3rep meso, and 1 week of 1's. THEN?
rock.gif
? Time for an SD? Or immediately start back with 15's at a higher RM??

<div>
(MichaelKies @ May 02 2008,3:26)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">Ok, so 1 more week of 5's, 2 weeks of a 3rep meso, and 1 week of 1's. THEN?
rock.gif
? Time for an SD? Or immediately start back with 15's at a higher RM??</div>
Whether or not it is time to SD is determined by your goals. If you are cutting, then in most cases I would suggest skipping the SD. If you are bulking, then by all means take an SD albeit longer since your cycle is longer.

I will still take an SD between cuts from time to time to give my body a break and avoid RBE, but that choice is yours.

Ok, so it is completely fine to immediately go back into another cycle, starting with the 15's, without SDing (as long as my body can handle it at that point, and as long as Im not really trying to bulk)?

(Really appreciate the help/advice!)