My first HST program - Critiques and suggestions welcome!

Browner

Hi guys,

I am 27, 5FT 10 and have been weight training on and off for 5 years, but seriously for the last year. During the last year I have incresed in size from 73kg to 87kg, but I am looking to put on another 6kg over the next few months. I began reading about HST and it sounded very interesting and I am going to give it a try, as I have recently reached a plateu in both size and strength. My Program is below, and will be doing this Mon, Tue, Wed of each week. Any suggestions are more than welcome as I am new to HST, and would love to be reasurred that 3 days training is enough to build mass; (this is the first stage, 2 weeks of 15 reps) Thanks for looking!

Monday

Wednesday

Friday

Last edited:
I think you've picked the right program to get passed your plateau. A ten-day break followed by 6-8 weeks of HST will definitely do that. I think you'll be convinced by the fourth week at the end of the ten's. Your exercise selection looks good, though I notice you have more back and less legs than usual. In my case bent over rows would kill me in the same workout as squats and deadlifts, so I'd probably drop them in favor of another quad or hamstring exercise. Have fun and keep us posted!

Thanks Rick,

Really appreciate your feedback. Nice to know im on the right track. I thought I knew alot about weight training, but knew nothing about HST. The principles seem realing good. I had a nice 2 week break over xmas so cant wait to get back into the gym on a regular basis. Had my first session Monday, and after doing the last few months a t 6 - 8 reps it was a massive shock to the system to do 15 reps, and was a good intense hour in the gym!

Is there any Hamstring exercise you'd recomend to replace the bent over rows, I used to do romainen (sorry about the spelling) deadlifts for hamstrings, but I think 2 forms of deadlift in workout may be a bit much.

Cheers
Chris