squats in the basement

pwrhngry

Hey guys, I have a question about doing squats. I Have been lifting for over 18-20 months now but was going about it in a pretty uninformed manner until a couple of months ago. I was doing endless sets/reps, big 2 hour plus workouts etc. Added to that is when I started it was after having lost a BUNCH of weight (185 down to 140 @ 5'11'') in about 10 months rather unintentionally, after a nasty divorce and illness. Well I started training to stop the Wasting efffect that was becomming evident and soon became completely addicted to it. As I mentioned I went about it all wrong for the longest time though. Then I started to really become a student of all of the principles involved and whats really going on in there.
I now have read dozens of whole books about nutrition, training, physiology, biomechanics, kinesiology, etc. Ive decided to go for a degree in sports science when I can afford it in fact, lifting has so changed my life! Its like Ive found my niche!
 Any way, the upshot of all of this study is that about 10 weeks ago I squatted for the first time in my life, upon learning how pivotal it is. The problem is: My body seems to have EATEN MY LEGS! While most of yall seem to casually squat 3 times your body weight, my body weight (155 now) is my 5rm! I bench about what I squat! I know even that is weak by any of yall's standards, but I can kindof attribute it to being catabolic for about a year before lifting, coupled with my marathon 20-30 set workouts for the first year of lifting. 2-2.5 hours a day 6 days a week.
 My question though is, if Im now fixing my mistakes and misconceptions why is my squat not coming along like everything else seems to be? I know that Im still a few light years away from where I will one day be all around, but the other stuff (upper body, even D.L.,which is 220 5rm) are responding since I started to lift correctly.My squat however is still for squat!!!!!