Strength And power training

Catalonia

Is it possible to use the HST method to build strength? I.e. by keeping the same low number of sets and reps but brining in more neurotransmitters (if that's what happens) by simply doing the exercises as fast as you can (explosively)?

Basically, I'm pretty skinny.. but I don't really care. I started lifting weights maybe 5 months ago, but really didn't get any strength gains until I was injured with a high ankle sprain and could no longer do massive amounts of cardio. Trouble is, I like playing basketball. When I got back on the court, I was 10 pounds heavier and a bit stronger. What I really want to be able to do is have the strength to be fast and jump high. I suppose I should probably minimize basketball playing, run some sprints, and use low reps. I just don't know if I should bother with the whole 15-10-5 rep cycle over the 8 week period. I probably ought to stick with 5-10 reps at high weights. Any thoughts. I looked over the westside stuff, and it seems a bit out of my league, though I could be wrong. Strength and power are really what i'm looking for. I am 152 lbs and 6ft tall. (used to be 135 last August)

You wanna be faster and jump higher then HST isn't the answer, and you certainly shouldn't cut down on the basket ball...after all, the more you do something the better you get at it.

I've seen a lot of techniques on jumping higher, put a free barbell on your back, load it up just a little if at all and squat down and jump up as high as you can. The more you can load the bar and jump the same hight the stronger you get and higher you can jump.

Hell if I know that actually works, I've never tried it but I read it in more than one place so who knows.