6 sessions a week?

dohste

Hey,

I'm very new to HST, having only learned about it 2 days ago, and I'm now trying to put a program together to start next week.

One question I have is how important is the format of 3 workout sessions a week?

So for myself - I normally train early in the morning before work and having previously always used conventional split routines, my favorite way to train was with a 4 or 5 day split, purely because it forced me into a good routine where I'd be up early every morning and almost instinctively head to the gym. Whereas I find having 2 days of getting up that bit later and heading straight to work normally results in "negative motivational effects" on my training days! LOL

So would I be possibly overtraining or otherwise adversely affecting my HST program if I where to train either 5 or 6 days consecutively? Normally with any other routine I wouldn't even consider it, but the low volume per workout on any single muscle with HST leaves me less certain...

I’ve been using a 5-6 day spilt for the last 7 months ever since I started doing HST, also working out before work. As long as you manage the volume you should be fine. The only problem I’ve encountered doing this is some tendonitis from working each body part to many times a week and my muscles growing way to fast for my tendons to keep up. I just changed to s 6 day/week 3 way split which seems to be working great for gains and hopefully once I get to SD will allow me to get the tendonitis back under control because of the extra day off between the same body parts.

Thanks for the reply!!

I've been reading about a bit more since posting that question and I found somewhere that ~48hrs is recommended as the time between workouts. But you also used the term "split" - so does that mean you're doing for example upper body every second day and legs every other or something like that?