Advice

canehdian_guy

Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to HST and have beendisingenuousg the routine "simplify and win" which exclusively uses compound exercises. I'm having a lot of trouble working out my biceps using compound exercises. I would like to do chinups because I hear they are great for building mass on the back and biceps but I cannot do 15 reps of weighted chinups. Instead I have been doing reverse bent over rows but I've yet to feel even the slightest burn in my back or biceps from doing them. Do you guys have any suggestions as to what compound bicep/back exercises I could do? I'm primarily interested in my biceps because they are much less developed then my back muscles.

Thanks a lot guys,
Canehdian

- throw in a bicep curl with your routine.
- for chinups.. do close grip underhand pulldowns where your bodyweight exceeds the weight needed to do chinups for the desired rep range and percentages.
aka you weigh 200lbs and can do 10 chinups max. for 10s find out the percentages and work it out something like.
75% 120lbs x 10 (pulldowns)
85% 140lbs x 10 (pulldowns)
100% bodyweight (200lbs) x 10 (chinups)
(btw, these numbers aren't correct, just getting my point across.)

I've never liked BB Rows, luckily for me i have a herniated disc now anyways so i cant do them even if i wanted to.
If you want an exercise you can feel it in your back and does the same thing BB rows are suppose to do. Try seated cable rows with a V-bar or something. Up to you.

"I would like to do chinups because I hear they are great for building mass on the back and biceps but I cannot do 15 reps of weighted chinups. Instead I have been doing reverse bent over rows but I've yet to feel even the slightest burn in my back or biceps from doin them."

If you can't do 15 reps of weighted chins, then start with no added weight. If you can't do 15 reps, then do what you can. Chinups are very forgiving: they develop your strength over time if you keep at it.