Am I Addicted to HST? Help re: SST?

HJock

1. I have been training using HST regularly for about 5-6 years. I come back to HST every time I feel like a new routine isn't working. I do an A/B body split, and workout 6 days a week, therefore hitting each muscle group 3 times a week. I'm pretty advanced and this gives me an opportunity to do a bit more volume for each bodypart.

2. I'm always looking to put on mass (gain muscular weight, as Mark Rippetoe calls it in Practical Programming).

3. Every time I try some new workout (which usually comes from reading too much about how in order to build size you have to increase the volume, and that I need to do something drastically different to make my body grow), I lose size. I think the super high volume/HIT type training burns too many calories for me…fast metabolism here. So I immediately go back to HST. HST seems to "set" my body in a comfortably full (pumped) state, and I love the way it feels. My body feels "right" doing HST, full, big, hard, pumped…

4. However, I've only been able to put on 5-6 pounds in the years I've been doing HST. My body is definitely different from doing HST (denser muscle, and more shape), but I'm looking to put on 10 lbs. or more of muscle weight.

5. I recently started Starr's 5x5 strength program and although I think I can increase my strength on this program, I felt soft and not "full" the way I do on HST. Also, being in the gym only 3 times a week instead of 6 times a week, was affecting me psychologically.

6. So, now I've started HST again and I already feel better. I'm thinking of incorporating Starr's 5x5 instead of the 5's or after the 5's (or a mix of that and MaxStim).

So my questions to you guys are: