An interesting theory from a newbie regarding RMs.

john1973

Hi guys!

<?XML:NAMESPACE PREFIX = O /><O:p< O:p< p>I’m new to the world of HST and looking forward to my first week of training. I’ve established my RMs and have 4 days of SD left before I start. I do have one question though, the answer to which could change the way I do HST (like people say, it’s there to be tweaked!)
<O:p></O:p>

<O:p< O:p< p>To calculate my 15, 10 & 5 RMs I used the weights & reps from my last regular bout of training. I fed these into several different online RM calculators and the results were pretty accurate! I only had to add 1/2kg to my bench but the rest were dead on!!
<O:p< font O:p<>

<O:p< O:p< p>I think it’s safe to assume, therefore, that the calculators are reliable for my purposes. Based on this assumption, I have a theory about RMs (one which may have been covered so please forgive me if it has).

<O:p< O:p< p>My current bench press is 15 x 20kg, 10 x 24kg and 5 x 29kg (calculated and tested). In line with HST principles, these are the max RMs I would work towards during the respective cycles. So, in my case, when I’d reached 15 x 20 on the 2<SUP>nd</SUP> Saturday (I do a Tu Th Sa cycle) I’d then move on to start my 10RMs on the following Tuesday, working towards 24kg, and so on etc etc...

<O:p< O:p< p>Logically, when I came to lift the 20kg, the increased hypertrophy from the previous 5 workouts should facilitate one or more extra reps for that weight (after all, isn’t this how progressive loading works?) So then, suppose on that Saturday I lifted 20kg to failure and that I managed, for arguments sake, 16 reps (or more).