Bench/Dips and Chins/Rows

MichaelKies

Guys,

Is it over kill to be doing bench AND dips and Chins AND rows on the same day? Brian says he does both, but the sample HST program shows them being alternated every other workout. Ive ran my previous HST cycles doing both, but Ive been reading the "simplify and win" threads and am starting to feel like Im doing too much. Im NOT a newbie lifter, 40 years old, 6'2, 195.

Now, if I DO alternate how should I go about it since I'd be skipping one of the days from each and only hitting my max for ONE of the two excersises?

For example, if on the 10's my bench schedule for two weeks would be:
150, 160, 170, 180, 190, 200
and for weighted dips:

would I do 150bench, 40dips, 170bench, 60dips, 190bench, 80 dips? Or??

By the way, here is my current routine:

Squat
Bench
SL Deads
Dips
Chins
Military press
Rows
Skull crushers
Shrugs
Curls
Calves

Thanks guys, appreciate the tweak help!!
~M

<div>
(MichaelKies @ Dec. 22 2008,3:03)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">  Now, if I DO alternate how should I go about it since I'd be skipping one of the days from each and only hitting my max for ONE of the two excersises?

For example, if on the 10's my bench schedule for two weeks would be:
150, 160, 170, 180, 190, 200
and for weighted dips:

would I do 150bench, 40dips, 170bench, 60dips, 190bench, 80 dips? Or??</div>
Yeah, if you alternate, I would basically agree this is the way to go.  Start out at roughly 70% of your 10 RM and progress evenly up to 10 RM.   The range on your dips seems pretty wide, which suggests that your increments are too large.

Doing bench and dips on the same day is really dependent on your volume.  In my case, I can manage it pretty well up until the 5's, at which point my shoulders get pretty abused.

Thanks for the help Omega.