Check out my workout/ 20 rep squat with HST?

spongehead

Getting very excited about starting HST next week. I have been training for a few years now with not as much progress as I’d like. Been experimenting with a few routines, enjoy 5x5.  Will concentrate on eating loads for this HST…

I will be alternating workouts each session, training M, W, F. This is how it currently looks for the 10 rep weeks, doing 2 sets for each exercise except Workout A where Preacher and Military will be 1 set (so as not to overdo it!)

A
Deadlift
Chin
Inc Bench
Military
Preacher

B
Squat
Military
Rack Row
Flyes
Dips (focus on triceps)
Calf Raises

I know it’s much the same as other workouts – how does it look? Should I scrap preacher curls altogether or replace them with pull downs (I’ve not before religiously done isolation exercises)?

In the past I have had lots of aches and pains with joints – especially my lower back and legs. Since lifting weights I have had much less problems. I am therefore concerned with the 5 rep weeks with squats and deadlifts that such low reps may aggravate past problems. Perhaps I could do the squats Monday, (leg curl and leg press Wednesday?) deadlifts Friday or do 20 reps, 15, 8/10 instead of 15, 10, 5? Plus I know there’s lots of contradictory information out there but some people rave about the 20 rep squats and suggest that 8-20 reps is best. I know the priority with HST is incremental weight progression so is the rep range important?

I will start with 80% 10-rep max (deadlift for example) Monday, Friday 90% then Wednesday 100%. Are best gains with progression of increments of 3 like mine or 6 (exactly the same workout M, W, F)? Or am I being anal, as it really does not matter?

I would appreciate your feedback…

20 rep squats aren't really that beneficial. People say that they increase testosterone, but they don't. Studies have proven that. The only thing that increases testosterone levels significantly is testosterone supplementation.