Confession of a non-Dead Lifter

soflsun

So the DL is the king of the gym.  Well I've never mentioned this before, but I have never done a DL before today.  I was always scared of pulling weight from the floor and possible back injury or hernia.  Anyway, since joining this forum I have now done free weight squats and now DL's.  I wouldn't have ever had the courage to do it if I wasn't a member here.  Thanks to everyone.  I think the sig, "what's the use of living if you can't do the DL," or something like that was starting to really **** with my mind.

Anyway, it felt f-ing great! I now just need to make sure my form is absolutely correct.  I felt pretty good on the rise, but when I was lowering the weight I felt that my back was bearing a little too much of the load.  Any really good links or movies of the lift would be much appreciated.  My heart was beating pretty damn good from these suckers, probably from nerves as well as the lift itself.  

I did 8 sets of 3 for 185 lbs. and 1 set of 5 for 205 lbs.  I felt this was honorable for my first time.  Thanks to everyone.

soflsun,

Great job man!

Congrats, I think you'll find them a very valuable addition to your arsenal!
smile.gif

But yea, make sure that form is good, cause they are more of a risky lift than some others. If done correctly, they are well worth it.

To lessen the risk of injury, I only do deads with a trap bar. You don't have to hyper-extend your back to keep the bar in front of your knees. It thus allows one to handle heavier weights as well.

<div>
(soflsun @ Nov. 05 2007,15:52)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">I felt pretty good on the rise, but when I was lowering the weight I felt that my back was bearing a little too much of the load.</div>
I try to lower the weight in the exact opposite manner that I lift it.

That's really good to hear Solfsun. You will get to love deads once you have your form down.

If you didn't catch it, check out this recent thread: Stuff on deads