Couple of Newb Questions about HST

Frank784

I've never heard of HST until it was recommended to me in another forum as I'm basically a beginner to weight-training. The way that I've always known working out was separate parts, legs one day, chest the next, ect.

I've read a couple of stickies and saw to get 15, 10, and 5 rep maxes during SD. I also saw that its more like a full-body workout thats two or three days a week; something that I've never seen before. I picked out about 6 or 8 exercises that seemed like the usual that others pick, went to the gym and did each exercise to find which weight I could do 15 times. I found it for most of them, but also most I had to raise a few times, and I'm not even sure if the final numbers were my maxes, as I might have been too tired after the few sets I had attempted.

I did that on Monday and here Wednesday, when I planned to find the 10 rep maxes, I'm sore from Monday, and don't see how I could find my 10s when I'm sore like this and can barely walk.

Please excuse my ignorance, I've tried to find some more reading on this, but find it a bit confusing and am totally new to this concept.

Do I have the right idea of finding the maxes? I'm really interested from what I've read about this program and appreciate input from those knowledgeable on the subject.

-Frank

yeh you have the right idea for your maxes. Ah the pain of new lifting
biggrin.gif
. If your too sore then you can weight until Fri to find your ten rep max or you can use this approximation.

15 rep max x1.2= 10 rep max
10 rep max x 1.15= 5 rep max

Stick with HST
biggrin.gif

Thanks for the response. I think I'll wait a couple of days as opposed to the approximations. I'll check and see how they were comparing my 15s to my 10s. Now that I have a general idea of the approximate weights and how to do the various exercises, I'll aim for the most correct weights for 10 rep maxes.

Don't be impatient.

Double check if you want.