cutting cycle

jwbond

i have been doing cutting cycle for a couple of months now. i have gone from 207lbs @ 15.5% (measured) to 194lbs @ ~12%.

This means I have lost 13lbs total. According to the above, it is only 7.2lbs of fat loss, which I feel is accurate. I am assuming some of the weight loss is glycogen, water, fecal matter, and muscle. Obviously I am hoping most of it is from sources other than muscle.

the reason i am posting is bc i am getting discouraged and need some advice and possibly a pep talk, hah! i feel great when i am bulking in winter and keep telling myself that "next summer you will have enough lbm that you wont mind sacrificing some for a lower bf %". unfortunately, i feel i am never happy when it comes summer time. cutting makes me feel like my arms are toothpicks. They have gone from 16" to 15.5" with the recent cutting, which is drivig me nuts.

sorry for the rant, but i am just really down about it all and wanted to hear others thoughts.

does anyone know how to more accurately judge muscle loss? my strength has dropped little so that is good.

You're not alone. From what I've read, it seems this is the case with everyone (including myself). Bulk=happy, Cut=Discouraged and grumpy. I've even contemplated swearing off cutting and going on an "eternal bulk". In the end, though, I don't think I'd be too happy =P

Not trying to give a plug to Lyle McDonalds stuff, but I"ve been testing it out lately. Supposedly his programs allow you to cut with minimal to no muscle loss.

I tried his UD 2.0. While I really didn't lose much fat (my own fault - add more cardio next time), I did get stronger. Now I'm on day 5 of his Rapid Fat Loss program. We'll see how this goes......

15.5" guns is 2.5" bigger than the average. What are you afraid of? It's easier to keep the fat off once its off too. Cut Cut Cut and then slow bulk. You'll be ripped dude, RIPPED!!!