Decline Bench Press

Peak_Power

Hi, allow me to introduce myself, I have been a professional fitness trainer for many years, so I am not a "noob" to hypertrophy or strength training, but I have only just recently discovered HST and have started applying its principles to my own training, and to clients interested in hypertrophy.

I have read some posts where people have said they get better results from dips and incline dench than from flat bench, I agree, but I was thinking what about decline bench? I was thinking of doing 1 set of incline bench and 1 set of deline bench, so I could hit the upper and lower pec regions. I have a bench here at my gym that goes to a decline angle of about 20 degrees lower than flat. Any advice?

Why? If you do dips, it will hit the lower pec quite adequately, and you can probably use more load than you bench with decline.

I don't know, I just don't like decline personally. It feels ackward and unnatural in comparison to dips. Also, I can use a ton more weight in dips when you count bodyweight plus what weight is added.

Welcome Peak!

Ditto what Tot said.

For me dips feel just about the most natural chest exercise that I can do but I know that some folks get shoulder pain doing them. By altering the depth of descent I have a great deal of control over how much stretch I allow and they are also fantastic for tris. Negatives are easy to accomplish with them too. If I had to pick only one chest exercise it would be dips.

Dips and incline presses (slight incline of around 10-20º) make a great pairing.

Yeah I get shoulder pain doing dips, maybe its my technique, but as the only employee here at my corporate gym who am I going to get to correct me? heheh...I am very inflexible in that area, so I've been doing a lot of stretching to help that.