Delayed SD

Pikehunter

I'm no pro bodybuilder, but I do get a kick out of shooting for certain events like beach vacations to 'peak' for. It gives me alot of motivation and alot of pride in my individual accomplishment each year. Anyway, I have such an event June 1, but my current workout schedule/calendar would have my SD start two weeks before the trip. I'd really like to start my SD during the trip which is 7 days long, but to train right up to the trip would mean an additional 6-7 workouts beyond when SD should normally start.

Is this a big deal?

Thanks.

I'm no pro bodybuilder, but I do get a kick out of shooting for certain events like beach vacations to 'peak' for. It gives me alot of motivation and alot of pride in my individual accomplishment each year. Anyway, I have such an event June 1, but my current workout schedule/calendar would have my SD start two weeks before the trip. I'd really like to start my SD during the trip which is 7 days long, but to train right up to the trip would mean an additional 6-7 workouts beyond when SD should normally start.

Is this a big deal?

Thanks.

If I were you, I'd extend my cycle another week or two so it would end right before my trip. I like to extend the cycle by going for lower rep schemes like 4s, 3s, or 2s. And then, to get a good pump and metabolic work, I'll do high rep drop sets (like I talked about in your other thread) after my heavy sets. I like to do this in the 5s as well, really.

The 8 week template is just a suggestion. I've done it for 10 weeks doing 15s, 12s, 9s, 6s, & 3s instead of the 15/10/5 layout.