DOMs and Inflammation

Good answer Dan :D

The way I look at it, is if we have too low of blood amino levels, especially right after training, we might be asking for trouble. mTOR is very AA sensitive, especially during a rebound from a workout. If blood AA is low, and insulin is low there could be a good amount of supression.

Ron

This is a back-to-basics question I guess...

MPD - is this term used to describe the proteins being broken down due to mechanical strain - the way anything will be under enough tension...or is it used to describe MP being used as an energy source..?

Ok, so, obviously I have had a lot of experience in losing muscle while trying to get lean, but I never considered that the workout alone might be responsible.  Is that what we are saying?  If my protein stays high, and my calories are at maintenance or slightly below, I might still be losing muscle through my workouts (it seems like Bryan has always said not to change your training just because you are trying to cut rather than bulk -- you need the stimulus to maintain as much mass as possible)?

I also lost you, DKM, in some of the abbreviations. I think I got the gist, though.

For the guys who got lost in abbreviations, here ya go:

PSMF - Protein Sparing Modified Fast
MHC - Myosin Heavy Chain
FSR - Fractional Synthesis Rate
FBR - Fractional Breakdown Rate
MPS - Muscle Protein Synthesis
MPD - Muscle Protein Degradation

Regards,
-JV

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]MPD - is this term used to describe the proteins being broken down due to mechanical strain - the way anything will be under enough tension...or is it used to describe MP being used as an energy source..?
MPD is increased protein breakdown which can actually be the result of many things, not just due to mechanical strain of the workout - for example, fasting (early only; prolonged fasting tends to gradually decrease protein breakdown as the body adapts to the environment of little food available) and denervation.

[b said: