Dropping weight moving into 5's? Question

charr

Hello.

I'm new to HST and I'm on my first cycle. I'm coming to the end of the 10's but haven't seen any gains yet.

Question is as I move in to 5's I will have to drop the weight from my max 10.

For example.

My max 10 bench press is 220 pound and my max 5 is 240 pound. Once i have completed my my max 10 I will have to drop the weight back down to 215 in order to complete the 5's

So

Fri: max 10 220 pound.

Mon: 215 * 5
Wed: 220 * 5
Fri: 225 * 5

Mon: 230 * 5
Wed: 235 * 5
Fri: max 240 * 5

Is it ok to do this?

Thanks

I think he's concerned about zigzagging or stair-stepping the weight from 220x10 to 215x5 going from 10s to 5s. OP, that is not a problem with the weights, but in order to make gains you must be eating at a surplus. If the scale isn't moving higher, then as the guys said, you aren't eating enough.

If your overly concerned at dropping too low on a zig-zag plan then repeating the same weight for an extra session shouldn't hurt too much. I often have to with my light weights else I really don't get any gains.

In a six week cycle, you can gain up to 12 pounds. Some will be fat of course at that speed, but if you eat enough protein and calories, and have accurate rep maxes figured, and ramp the loads up over the cycle, after a proper Sd, you can gain a couple pounds of muscle in that time. After 6 months of training, you can build an appreciable, visible amount of muscle mass, if calories are high enough, and training is good.
In just a couple of weeks, you are not going to "SEE" gains visibly, unless you are eating a truckload of food and taking a bunch of anabolic drugs on top of it.