First cycle and the results are in......

nlmorgan

Before I outline what happened let me say that I was skeptical that HST would put much muscle on me. I'm 6ft4 - 1.90cm - and have always struggled to put on muscle. I am a self confessed hard gainer. I know there are many of you out there that will say that there is no such thing, but I have to disagree. Aged 18 I was about 11stone not exactly Mr O. genetics. Anyway I've been training 3 or 4 times a week for 15 years and reckon to have put on about 2 1/2 stone of muscle. But I've always wanted just a little bit more and no matter what programme I followed, just couldn't seem to put on any more muscle. I had felt like I had reached my genetic maximum which seemed ridiculous given that I was still pretty skinny. So I thought the scientific basis of HST warranted a proper trial. Ah yes, the results ok.....

Starting weight - 196
weight after 8 weeks - 194

waist - 36 inches
after 8 weeks - 36 inches

left and right biceps increased by about 3 cm

left and right quads increased by 4 cms

chest - exactly the same - 41 inches - no gain at all.

Kneck - increased by 1/2 inch

To say that I'm confused is a bit of an understatement. The results don't seem to make any sense, how could I have lost 2 pounds in overall weight, yet my body fat % appears to remain unchaged (waist) whilst my legs and arms are bigger.

So on the one hand I was delighted that my limbs are getting bigger but where I would really like to have had some real growth is the chest/back.

I did cable presses (same as a dumbell press but with cables!), weighted chins, weighted dips, squats, incline bicep curls, tricep press downs, dumbell shoulder press and stiff legged deads. The only wavering from the strict HST methodology was the last 2 weeks. I just couldn't do any negatives so repeated the 10s with a marginally higher weight.