First cycle routine

antonioxnil

Hi! I've been reading about HST for the past few days — main site and this forum — and decided to give it a go. Here's the routine I'm planning to start. Do tell, you experts of HST, if it is a good one. (I've been working out for the past two months after a hiatus of almost a year, having worked out for the previous two years or so with no results, mostly due to bad nutrition, I think. I'm not particularly fond of leg workout - quadriceps and hamstrings are big enough, although I have no glutes, it seems –, but I opted for a upper-lower split because I'd rather work out more than 3 times a week. Last week was deload week, so I intend to begin tomorrow with my first cycle. Also, I've just begun a cut, but don't intend to do cardio. An occasional medium-low-intensity soccer match or low-intensity tennis match may occur on the off-day. Additional question, if sub-forum appropriate: I bought creatine for the first time before realizing I should cut instead of bulk. Should I begin taking it now, on a cut, or wait to take advantage of the supposed initial pump for a bulk?)

A - Upper body
Bench press
Chin-ups
Dips
Lat pulldown
Arnold press
Biceps curl
Cable triceps pushdown

A - Lower body
Squats
Leg extension
Leg curl
Calf raise
Abs

B - Upper body
Incline bench
Barbell row
Dumbell pullover
Pull-ups
Shoulder press
Triceps extension
Dumbell biceps curl

B - Lower body
Squats
Leg Curl
Machine leg press
Standing calf raise
Abs

Frequency: A,A,B,B,A,A,rest,B,B...

I don't know how to integrate the deadlift in a upper-lower body split. Tips on that too?

Thank you in advance.

Last edited:
Looks good. You should be bulking unless you are too fat. And if you need to lose weight and cut, don't bother with creatine. Its always better to bulk if you are trying to gain muscle size.

Thank you for the reply, Sci!