First HST routine - critique please

Actonkiwi

Hi Guys,

This is my first attempt at an HST routine. I have looked through the faq and the threads on here and come up with the following routine

Squat
Deadlift
DB Bench
Incline DB Bench
Standing Shoulder Press
BB Bentover Rows
BB Curls
Seated Tri Extn
DB Shrugs
Standing Calf Raise
Ab work (crunches)

Is this a balanced routine? and are there any reduntant or uncessary exercises?

I am of the understanding that I do 1 x 15, then 2 x 10 and finally 3 x 5 with incremental increases in poundages until I reach the rep max for that rep range - is this correct?

I will be training m - w - f

I appreciate any constructive responses :D

I also appreciate the fact that a lot of people request that their routine be looked at.

The reason I am asking is that while I have been lifting for 2 years or so I find that I am bouncing from one program to the next. HST seems like it could be the answer for me and I'd like to make sure I do it correctly.

Thanks in advance.

hey mate. looks good but i'd split it into A & B. i just started mine last week, have a look at my training log - getting massive. the exercises are pretty similar.
Totentanz has given me a lot of good advice about the order of exercises as well. i also asked the same question as you in the simplyfy & win thread.
got some good advice there from Fausto & Tot, so have a look there as well.

i was going to do shrugs & isos as well, but training every muscle group in one sesh is more hectic than you think.
the 15s will murder you if you do them properly. i would start your first cycle with just the basics and see how you go.

you are correct when you say do 1*15, 2*10 3*5. best place to start. also correct about the poundages.
i found all my RMs in one week, then i took 9 days SD. make sure you take a week off before you start or it may not work as well.
you need to decondition your muscles especially if you have been training for a while.