Hello all

Sparky

Just wanted to say hello to all on this forum. I'm a newbie here but certainly not a newbie to training. I became aware of this site and the HST style of training through the ironage.us website.

What I have read has intrigued me and I'm on my first cycle, about to start my 3rd day of 15's.

I've been bodybuilding virtually my entire life and competed in the 1980's with some degree of success. Like so many other I followed the standard split routines popular in the magazines that entire time.

I'm 46 now and just started back training again in April after the longest layoff of my life, close to 2 years. Again I went back to the standard 3 day split routine, getting the entire body in once a week. I was never one to do a lot of sets per bodypart (except when I was really young). Typically 12 sets for the large muscle groups and 6-8 for the smaller groups.

Of course after a layoff that long I made some good progress over the first few months, although I will admit that coming back after such a long layoff at 46 has been a slow process as far as getting some of my exercise poundages back to respectability. I had to check my ego at the door and take it real slow and light at first to avoid injury.

To make a long story short (or even longer) lately I have become frustrated with my progress as I've started to hit the wall a lot sooner then I had expected. I felt I had nothing to lose by trying something radical for the first time in my life, and I became aware of HST at just the right time when I was willing to try something new.

I have to say that the science behind this method of training is very intriguing. I'm going to give it a shot.

I realize that to get the most benefit a period of SD is recommended but I didn't really want to layoff at this point. I realize my first cycle will really be more trial and error as I determine my RM's etc. Just the idea of doing the entire body in one workout 3 times a week will be radical for me.