Help a Fat Guy

tucsonpoolguy

I have read through everything about HST and it sounds like it's really effective, but I could definitely use some advice as to how to make it work for me.  I am completely new to working out.  I'm 33 yo, 5'10" and in Jan. I weighed 265... I have switched over to clean eating and just started working out 6 wks ago and am down to 235 as of last Fri.... currently I am going to the gym Mon. - Fri. and I do 30 min. on the treadmill keeping my heart rate at 150 and then I do some resistance training (all on machines since I don't really know much about free weights)
Mon. - Chest/Tris
Tue. - Legs
Wed.- Shoulders/Back
Thur.- Bis/Abs
Fri. - Chest/Tris
and I've been alternating my Chest/Tris and Shoulders/Back every other week.  I know it has a lot to be desired but I had to start somewhere.  I'd really like to try the HST program to get the most results possible out of my efforts... I could also use some ideas for some alternatives to chins/dips as I'm sure I can't lift my BW as of yet.  Any ideas/comments/suggestions??

Hi Tuscon-
Welcome to the HST board, and congrats on your losses so far! Don't feel apologetic- you've made great progress (even if it perhaps a little fast, but more on that in a minute). Yes, I'd say that HST would be a great program for you. I've found that when I explain it to people who are just starting out, it's easiest to approach it from one of two directions. First, you could do the "basic" program- 3 days/week, full-body each workout. Second, if you have the time, you could do 6-day/week split- I prefer push-pull, but that's me- you could split by region as you've done as well. If you can add a sixth day to your routine, you might try the latter.