help me please

bi0hazurd

I'm new to this hypertrophy training thing. Til now I've been doing 5x5 as a bulking routine and it worked wonders. But now I wanna focus on gaining size. And mainly arm size atleast an inch and more definition and size all around. Can anyone recommend a good hypertrophy routine for an increase in size that won't affect my strength? I'm new to this and didn't really understand what I've read about it.

For starters, you can follow the sample HST routine. If you've already read around, you'd have seen it already. If you don't like some of the exercises in it, you can substitute with your favorite ones.

Before you start the cycle, try to find your 15, 10 and 5 rep max.

Afterwards, if you've been training for so long and haven't had a break yet, you should try to SD for a month.

After the SD, you being the cycle: 2 weeks of 15's, then 2 weeks of 10's, then 2 weeks of 5's. Continue with the 5 rep max for the next 2 weeks after the third, and you can add negatives or drop sets. When you've stopped gaining or your joints are starting to hurt, that's when you stop the cycle, and go back to SD.

Basically, wash, rinse and repeat after that.

As for your request to add to your arms, it's the triceps that need more work than biceps, since triceps are what fill sleeves, unless you go around bending your arms everywhere you go. And if you want to work your triceps, you have to make it work hard by using big compound movements that involve it, like benches. For stretch after the compounds, skullcrushers probably.

As always, good diet (enough calories and protein) are a must, the HST methods are no substitute for poor nutrition. Since you say you've been bulking with 5x5, I'm sure you've got your diet dialled in already, so that should be no problem.