Help, plateau!

onemoreset

Hi again,

I'm doing HST 3x/week, with around 7-10 exercises per w/o, and I've increased my calorie intake.. I've been doing HST for around 7 months, and I've never lifted before HST.

So far I've gained ~20 pounds, and I'm very happy with the results; but for the past 3 months or so, I seem to have reached a plateau; no size/weight gains. But I seem to be getting some fat deposits, so I'm wary of increasing my calories.

Should I decrease/increase my frequency, or try a more "conventional" program?

TIA

Onemore: how long are you SD'ing for?
You can cut when you feel you look too fat...and either HST or a strength routine would be good for that. Then return to bulking with HST for your next upswing.

Thanks, faz, quadancer. The strange thing is that I'm no longer gaining any weight.. But it seems that some fat is getting deposited (in my gut, for example). So I'm hesitant to cut or SD, because the muscle is always the first to go, right?

That's the reason for strength training on a cut. I believe it send signals to the body that the muscle is needed still.

There's no way round it. If you have stopped gaining then you are going to have to eat more. Up your calories by about 300 a day and see how that goes.

Don't forget that as you have gained weight your daily calorific requirement has increased just so you can maintain bodyweight.

It's almost inevitable that you will gain some fat along with new muscle but there are some possible things to try that might help a little.

One thing you could do is take a look at how your calories are divided up into the main food groups. Cut back on your processed starchy carbs and eat more protein, fats and use vegetables and fruits for your carbs. This might help a bit with partitioning but it might not. Ultimately, though, you've got to be eating enough to gain.