How to cut?

markobenin

Hey guys,

So I just finished my 3rd bulk cycle of HST and was 222lbs last time I checked. I'm about to take an 11 day SD and then start on a "cutting" cycle to shred any fat I may have put on since I started HST. Since I have never done a cut before in my life, I was wondering if some of you can offer some guidance.

A few questions I have include:

1) Do I keep the RM's the same as this last bulk cycle I just finished, or do I increase them by 10-15lbs as before?

2) Do I just eat 800-1000cal less than I do now 7 days a week, or do I vary my diet (i.e. eating more on some days vs. others)?

3) What composition of protein/carbs/fat should I am for? Now I'm doing a rough 30%/50%/20% protein/carbs/fat composition.

4) How much cardio should I add to my workouts, and can I do this cardio on off days?

5) Can I keep the same HST routine as now, or do I have to change up exercises, reps/sets, etc.?

Thanks and I hope to get some of these questions cleared up soon!

-Marko

1) Always try to increase your RM's... why not test them first?
2) There is a lot of flexibility here, check out the Diet & Nutrition forum
3) Whatever works best for you, people worry about the macros too much, just make sure you aren't eating too many calories
4) Cardio on off days is great... cardio before and after a workout can be beneficial, just don't overdo it or you will end up in catabolism
5) Keep it

#3 I woudlnt worry so much about macros, but make sure you get at least 1g protein/lb LBM. Adequate protein is even more important during cutting than bulking because protein is the most protein sparing nutrient. The rest is pretty much making sure your calories are low enough to induce weight loss. There is a minimum amount of fat that should be consumed, but it is extremely difficult to remove all fat from your diet. If you are taking 6g fish oil/day then you more than likely have enough fat to live off of.