Hst Balance of exercises

Duke Shokan

Hi all,

Recently i started my first HST cycle and i am enjoying it.
I have been working out for about 8 years now (on and off), and i have tried different programs.
So far HST seems to work for me, i have made some nice gains already.
I am in my 2nd week of 10s but I am wondering if my set-up is balanced.
The reason i am wondering is because i have got a slight pain in my upper back (between shoulder blades)
Its never extremely painful, just now and then it pops up.
I have recently moved to a new place and i could have pulled something during the moving process.
But I am also thinking that i might have too many back exercises in my routine.

My program looks like this:

- Squats
- Deadlift
- Bench Press
- Barbell Row
- Barbell Shrugs
- Military Press
- Pull-Ups
- One Legged Calf Raises
- Skull crushers
- Barbell Curl

Mind you, im still in the 10s so not going extremely heavy. I have a scheduled appointment at a physical therapist at the end of this week. Its just that it sort of popped in my head just now, that i could be because of too many back exercises.

What do you guys think? Should I take 1 or 2 of the back exercises out or is it fine as it is? (my initial thought was that the big is large and has many different muscle, but i could be wrong)

Last edited:
How hard were you pushing on the bench press recently? I ask because 2 times in the past when performing barbell incline presses I was forcing out the very last rep where I could barely get the bar to the top and because one arm is usually always a little weaker than the other, I focused on keeping the bar straight and not letting one side go up faster than the other. I ended up pulling a muscle in the middle of my back.