HST - is there any scientific proof?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nlmorgan

I'm kind of new to this training style and being one of the world's great hard gainers I'm still trying to find out the best way to build muscle. I've pretty much tried all the routines and none have really impressed me.
I am a total believer in science and if Professor so and so has conducted a study which says blah blah blah then that's what I like to hear. I've no time for what the local iron man/steroid junky says is Gospel. Hence my attention was stirred when this routine seemed to imply it was based purely on scientific principles not tradition.

I tried out a variation on it for a couple of weeks - basically doing every body part/2 sets each 3 times a week but going to failure (and forced reps) 10 - 12 reps each set. To my amazement I made some immediate strength gains. Was suddenly lifting about 8 - 10% more. So so far so good. Anecedotally I've been impressed and comments from others seem to be very supportive but ............
is there any scientific evidence to say the HST routine advocated on this site actually works. I'm not talking about evidence from the many studies that Bryan and others have used to form the jigsaw that is now HST but a specific study which compared this training routing against a more conventional one. So for example 20 guys trained for 8 weeks on HST and 20 guys did a conventional programme.

i.e side by side which one packs on the most muscle?

If it hasn't been done already, why doesn't someone do it?

You want scientific proof? Read the HST article. It lists over a dozen studies to back up what it says.
HST

Other than that, I don't know what you expect. No universities are going to do studies on whether HST is better than HIT or DC or WS or any of that. Read the studies that Bryan has "pieced together" and you should get the picture - progressively and chronically loading the muscle is what causes muscle growth.