HST newbie here, need help and advice please

deadliftman

You guys have probaly read threads like these a million times before so i apologise from beforehand. i have read through various threads on this site and others and think i have come up with a decent routine. However, i am unsure over the set schemes. I have seen schemes like 1x15, 2x10, 3x5, or 2x15,10,5 and a scheme from an online FAQ....

"2 sets perexercise during the 15s. 2 sets during the first week of 10s and 1 set per exercise during the second week of 10s. 2 sets during the first week of 5 and one set during the second week"......

once the experts on here help me choose the right selection, then we can critique my routine, thanks

How to arrange your sets is really dependent on you, your recovery ability and level of conditioning. The longer you have been lifting properly the more volume you are likely to need to stimulate growth. The younger you are the more likely you can recover from more volume quickly.

As a general rule the most common starting set/rep scheme is going to be 1x15, 2x10, 3x5 to start with. This keeps the volume relatively even throughout your cycle. If you find in the later 10s and 5s that you have to much volume to properly recover from then you can always drop off some sets. However, as another general rule I usually try to keep the volume at no less than 15 reps to ensure enough time under tension to stimulate growth. The exception might be when things get really heavy where I might drop down to 10 reps total.

Probably the most confusing thing for most people about HST is that it is really only a set of principles not a specific routine which is what most people are used to following. So in the short run you may feel like you’re not sure of what you are doing, however, after getting a cycle under your belt you’ll likely appreciate the flexibility to redesign a routine that better fits your needs than some one-size-fits-all routine that really ends up fitting no one.