HST problem...

balin

Hi there guys. This is my very first thread. I am new to HST.. this is only my second cycle (gave it a try about 4 months ago).

Im giving it another try but have seemed to hit the same problem I had last time.

I always find my 12,8,5 RM ahead of time for every exercise, then I subtract 5-10lbs for each workout day. So lets say today was my first day doing 12s and I know that my 12rm on bench press is 200lbs, I start with 2 sets of 150....the first set is mega easy but then I cant complete the second set and have to stop at around 8 reps to avoid failure. I have no idea why...i mean the first set always feels really easy and light.

It is as if my muscles get too pumped and they fail. This happens on my bench press, military press, and close grip bench press, bent over rows. Does not happen on Squats, SLDL, or curls.

I always rest from 1.5-2 minutes between sets. Does this happen to anyone else?

Try using what your rep max is for two sets. I'm not sure why you're fatiguing so fast, but perhaps 175 would be a better RM? So, the workouts will look like: 125 135 145 155 165 175. Based on experience: by the end of two weeks the 175 will be easy! Don't worry about the weights being light. After a few HST cycles, the numbers will look a lot better.

Hope that helps,
Clayton

How is your preworkout nutrition? You shouldn't be burning out on your second set when you are only using 75% of your rep max. Have you tried doing your other lifts and then coming back to the first lift for your second set? If so, did the same problem occur?