hst reading

roguephoenix

i'm completely new to this whole hst program. in fact i'm still trying to get as much info as i can. i've read the faq's, but most refer to things that i'm supposed to already know, but don't. things like 15s, 10s, 5s and such. i've seen the example workout here, but it bears no resemblance to actual workouts done by people nor to posts they are refering to. can anyone point me in the right direction about where to read? i'm in need of assistance asap. thanks.

thanks for the reply. i've actually read those already and those gave me a different picture than what everyone here is talking about.

from the sample workout, it shows that incline bench at 2 sets of 10 reps. however people here are talking 15 reps, then 10 then 5 then having weight increments of 5lbs or 10lbs. where does that come in? wouldn't the workout just require the warmup then the 2 sets of 10? this is where i am confused. i've actually read that excel sheet you gave to someone and i couldn't understand that either. does it mean that every 2 weeks the reps go down by 5 until it's just 5? when does the weight incrementing come in? before the actual 2 sets that i'm supposed to do, like a warmup?

Darn, you seem to have missed the whole thing off HST.

Simply put, this is the basic scheme:

- You determine your maxes of 15 10 and 5 reps off the exercises you'll use

- you decondition (read: do nothing stressful on the muscles) for at least a week

- you build up a workout plan using 2 weeks of 15s, followed by 2 weeks of 10s, followed by 2 weeks of 5s, and then followed by one or two weeks of some other intensity sets like drop sets, negatives, ....

- During the two week cycles you build up to the maximum of that rep. For example if you 15 RM is 100, the two weeks of 15s could go as 75 - 80 -85 -90 - 95 - 100. You do the same for the 10s and the 5s, building up to the maxes during those two weeks.

Daxie

[b said: