HST with dumbbells

• Thread starter Thread starter imported_davidwillis
  • Start date Start date
I

imported_davidwillis

Hi, this is my first post here. I have been reading up on HST for the last couple of weeks, and posted this in another forum, but didn't get a response.
I am going to give it a try. But I would like some suggestions on my program. First of all, I am going to be doing this at home, with nothing but a bench, and dumbbells. Secondly, I have had lower back broblems this summer, and don't want to hurt it again, and I also have tennis/golfers elbow, and wrist problems (this is one reason I want to go with HST, I hope to get some tenden, and joint strength). Thirdly, I am just starting out with lifting, I lifted a little in hi-school, but that was 15 years ago. I just started a couple of weeks ago, but have just been trying out different lifts to see what I like. I havn't lifted anything for a week, so it seems like a good time to try out HST. I will probably start out next week.

Here is what I am planning on.

sit ups (not HST, probably like 30-40 without any added weight)

db squats
inc. db press
db shoulder press
one arm bent db row
curls
calf raise
lateral raises

some others that I am considering

strait leg db dead lift (I am worried about my back though)
shrugs
lunges

I would like to work my legs good since they need it the most, but am not sure how to do it with only dumbbells, and a bad back.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
David

Dumbells will be okay.

Just make sure its compounds lifts.

Use barbell when you can.

If you the heavy weight is agrivating your old injury just switch to a little high rep scheme with progression.

Maybe 15-12-8 rep scheme.

Thanks guys. I am going to start out with the 15,10,5 and see how it goes. The lifts I have on my list does not seem to give me any problems so far. If I start noticeing any problems, I will switch to a higher rep one.