I can't do HST in 45 - 60 minutes

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date
G

Guys,

I'm new to HST.  I'm in my second week of 15s.  I searched the forum for previous posts regarding the 45-60 minute guideline...

I'm finding that I cannot get my entire circuit done in less than 60 minutes.  What am I doing wrong?  

Currently I'm doing 15s as follows:
2 sets of the following:
squats, stiff-leg-deadlift, dumbbell press, dips, pull-ups, chins, rows, shrugs, shoulder raise, lateral raise, rear delts, curls, tri-extension, calf raises and abs.  

Basically I'm doing the routine as outlined in the HST article.  

I'm typically getting to rear delts and my 60 minutes have passed.  I'm taking a 1-2 minute break between sets.  I don't want to spend 90 minutes in the gym but I do want to make sure I'm doing HST as outlined.

Any advice for this newbie?

Welcome mast!

You're not really doing anything wrong but a few changes now will probably help.

That's 15 exercises or thereabouts which will be around 30 sets. I'd do fewer exercises or just do single set of 15s for isos. In fact, barring squats, you could do single sets for all the others.

Super-setting some exercises can help cut down time too.

Your routine is probably going to take longer as you progress through the cycle because you will need more rest between sets when the loads are heavy.

Check out the Simplify & Win thread for more ideas.

You might find something like this works well:

Squat
SLDL
DB Press/Dips*
Pull-ups/Rows*
Shrugs/Press*
Curls (1 set)
Tri-extensions (1 set)
Calf Raise
Abs (1 set)

*alternate each workout

That's around fifteen total sets during 15s which you should be able to blast through. By the time you are in the 5s it'll still probably take you an hour if you do 3 or 4 sets for each compound and one or two for isos.

All the best.

Thanks a bunch! Ok, so I will probably cut down the sets to one (aside from squats) since I love the variety I'm getting.