I couldn't find some answers anywhere

PecJamming2k5

Hello everyone, I'm new to HST but I've been working out for about 18 months now and really need something new. Some buddies on the Men's Health boards suggested HST with lengthy endorsments. I have a couple quick questions that I couldn't find in the FAQ or y'alls previous discussions, I hope some of you wouldn't mind giving them a shot:

1. I like to do slight incline dumb bell bench as my chest exercise, unfortunately my 15 RM is only 120 (2x60), and my gym has dumb bells that go up by five (so ten total). If I'm doing a 2 week rep block I would have to start with 70 (2x35), basically, going down by ten's doesn't seem to make sense because my totals are so low that ten pounds is a very significant percent of my 15 RM. This is also true for exercises like assisted dips 15 RM.
Anyways, has anyone tries out doing one week rep blocks as suggested in the HST principles section? If so could you please explain, would I simply do 15x100 then 15x110 then 15x120 and the next week move onto 12's?

2. I don't see a lot of people using upright rows, but I find they are a good way to hit the lateral delts and traps with a compound movement, is there something I'm missing? Wouldn't they be better than overhead presses which (I've heard & could be wrong on) mainly hit the anterior delts?

3. Is doing 2 sets of squats and 2 sets of DL 3 times a week too much. I know this has been addressed but it seems like a mix between people saying it is too much and people telling newbies that they don't have enough legs exercises, any insights would help. Maybe just 1 work set of each?

Anyways, thanks a lot guys, I really appreciate any advice you could give me. I've heard a lot of good things about these boards and am excited to get involved! Best Regards.

Pec

I am going to attempt to help you: