I need help

combat_action

Hi everyone. I'd like some help. I did a cycle in the past and didn't get results other than 40 lbs taken off my bench. I've been weightlifting for over 8 years. I'm 245 lbs with 17% bodyfat. I love the idea of hitting the muscle three times a week with HST, but it didn't go the way I hoped the first try. Here's exactly what I did...Maybe you guys can see something wrong. -And no, my diet is not the problem. I almost doubled my carbs during the first 2 weeks of the program and stayed at 300 grams of protein throughout.

First, I did an week of SD.
Second, I decided on doing two weeks of 12's, 2 of 8's, 2 of 5's, 1 week of negs.

I did an upper/lower body split.
12's=2 sets first week, 1 set on my rep max day
8's=2 sets first week, 1 set on my rep max day
5's=3 sets first week, 2 sets on my rep max day
Day 1-
bench press
incline dumbbell press
barbell rows
pulldowns
shoulder press
side laterals
barbell curls
skullcrushers

Day 2-
squats
front leg press
seated calves
stiffleg deadlifts
barbell shrugs

I basically hit lower body twice, upper body thrice (is that a word?)
M-Day 1
T-Day 2
W-Day 1
Th-Day 2
F-Day 1
S-rest
Su-rest

Any thoughts? I know it's a long read, but the more info I put out, the more you can potentially help...
sleeping.gif

One more thing. If my rep max for side laterals is 50 lbs for 12 reps, do I have to do 25 lbs the first day going by inc. of 5? To me, the first week, even after SD is too easy and I feel like it doesn't help. I'm sure it's like that for everyone, is there a reason to do it?

First thought -- You should SD for at least 10 days. And if you are doing side latterals of 50lbs you are throwing alot of iron around. A full two weeks of SD would be more appropriate.

Bob