I want to do HST

big daddy shane

Hi all,

I've been training DC style for the past 5 months, and have made some great gains. However I feel I'm starting to burn out, so i'm thinking of changing to HST. My problem is, I almost never work in the rep ranges HST recommends, and I've been doing a lot of machines (like smith and hammer strength) that DC recommends.

I never do bench press or squats (I don't squat as I'm tall and tend to lean forward too much)- I leg press and hack squat and these have put good mass on my legs.

I know HST recommends compound free-weight exercises. The following list is the exercises I've been doing for DC-

Chest:
Incline barbell press
Incline smith press
Incline Hammer Press

delts:
Dumbbell press
Smith machine military press
Hammer machine press

triceps:
Close grip bench press
reverse grip smith bench press
dip machine
tricep pushdowns

back width
rack deads
close grip pulldowns
hammer pulldowns

back thickness:
bent rows
bent legged deadlifts
rack deadlifts

biceps:
straight barbell curls
spider curls
ezi-bar (cambered) curls

forearms
hammer curls
reverse curls
wrist curls

Calves:
Standing calf raises
leg press calf raises
seated calf raises

hamstrings:
seated leg curls
lying leg curls
sumo leg press

quads
leg press
hack squats
horizontal leg press

As you can see, there's a lot of machines here, because machines are an integral part of DC (with the rest-pausing).

I'm used to doing slow, controlled negatives as part of DC, does HST use the same principles? Or only for the final two weeks of a cycle?

Also, how do I determine my rep range maxes? Is there a calculation I can use based on an 8-rep lift?

Any recommendations for exercise selection? Could I rotate two different workouts?

Sorry for so many questions, appreciate the help.

Cheers