Is one set of Squats enough?

Julesx

I know I'm new to HST (but not to BB)

I did my 15's the other day and it got me thinking......................

Is one set of squats enough? I see that the front page of Bryan's HST instructions suggest 1 set for squats but 2 for SLDL and 4 in total for shoulders ( Shrug, Shoulder Press, Lat raise, Rear Lat raise).

I know that I am used to more volume but is the 3 sets per week on squats going to give the results.

Also...............

am I correct in following the suggested schedule on the HST page. I see that there are many tweaks on this forum but I think I need to get the basics right first.

or

should I just go for the basic compound lifts with a couple of isolation movements for bicep and tricep (say 1x15, 2x10 & 3x5).

Sorry for the dumb questions but I don't want to loose my hard earned muscle by doing HST all wrong!

Thanks

Jules

Jules, whether or not one set of squats is enough during 15s will depend on several factors: your conditioning as a lifter (ie. how many years you've been in the game) and your present level of deconditioning, and also the number or exercises you are doing in a session and, specifically, for the same muscle group - in this case, your legs.

If all you are doing for your legs is squatting and you are on a simplified routine then I would suggest a couple of sets of squats during 15s would be fine OR you could just do the one set and keep pumping out the reps past 15 if you fancy (what's the chance of that?!  
biggrin.gif
). Don't forget that the 15s are to flush the muscles with lactic acid. Bryan's advice for 15s was to start out with a slower rep speed and then to speed up when you feel a burn coming on. Then as the loads progressed each session you would increase rep speed (always retaining good form) so you would always manage to get your reps in.